Kicukiro District

Kicukiro District is one of the three Districts which constitute the City of Kigali and is situated in the South-East of the City of Kigali.

 Administrative boundaries:
It is situated in the south-east city of Kigali, the capital of Rwanda. It is made up of ten (10) administrative sectors (Kicukiro, Kagarama, Niboye, Gatenga, Gikondo, Gahanga, Kanombe, Nyarugunga, Kigarama, Masaka) , 41cells and 333 Administrative villages (imidugudu). The district covers a total areaof 166.7 km2with about 319,661inhabitants.

Kicukiro District was established by Organic Law n°29/2005 organizing the administrative
entities of the Republic of Rwanda, at the start of the second phase of decentralization in
January 2006.

Therefore, it resulted from the merger of former Gikondo, Kanombe, Kicukiro Districts and former Municipality of Kabuga.

Kicukiro is home to a thriving market, a number of both local and Internal NGO’s and industries such as Bralirwa brewery, Inyange industries, among others. It is also home to the Rebero Genocide memorial sites and the Nyanza Kicukiro Genocide Memorial site.

Population Dynamics

According to the just completed 2012 Population Housing Census, the total population of Kicukiro District was 319 661; with male population being 162 755 (50.9%) and female population 156 906 (49.1%). The estimated total population of Kicukiro District in 2010–2011 was 301,000, representing 28% of the total population of Kigali City and 2.8% of the total population of Rwanda. Females comprise 49.8% of the population. The average size of the household is 4.7 persons. The majority of the population of Kicukiro District is young, with 87% of the population aged less than 40 years old, and 46% less than 19 years old. Kicukiro has been classified as a largely non-poor District. It occupies the top position among all the Districts of the country, with a very low percentage (8%) of poor people (including extreme-poor)

Topography and Climate

The hydrographs of the District are largely constituted by streams and rivers which form a part of the basin of the Akagera River. The main rivers are the Akagera and the Nyabarongo, which flows through the city of Kigali from Muhazi Lake. The District has four seasons. Two rainy seasons and two dry seasons, alternating in the following manner: Small dry season: December, January and February Big rainy season March, April and May Big Dry season June, July, August and September Small rainy season October and November. These seasons are often irregular due to world climate changes. Lower or higher limits of each Season cannot be determined accurately. The rainy season may drag on into the dry season and vice versa. Average temperature is 22°C for a rainfall varying between 900 and 1150 mm of annual rain.


For more Information Please go to